Turning great ideas into healthier communities

Announcements

ADA National Network Learning Session: National Fire Protection Association's Emergency Evacuation Planning for People with Disabilities

September 26, 2016 | This announcement first appeared in an alert from PHI's Pacific ADA Center.

Please note: This webinar has been rescheduled for October 27, 2016. Registration has been re-opened. If you previously registered for the postponed webinar, you do not need to re-register.

This webinar is hosted by PHI's Pacific ADA Center as part of the ADA National Network/FEMA Webinar Series, Emergency Management and Preparedness-Inclusion of Persons with Disabilities.

General advice about major disasters says each of us will very likely need to take care of ourselves for the first 24 to 72 hours. The former chair of the National Fire Protection Association's (NFPA) Disability Access and Review Committee said " Every one of us should be prepared to take some responsibility for our own safety regardless of our circumstances."

To that end, the NFPA has created the Emergency Evacuation Planning Guide for People with Disabilities which provides assistance to people with disabilities, their employers, building owners and managers, and others as they develop emergency evacuation plans that integrate the needs of people with disabilities. This guidance can be used in all buildings, whether old or new.

This webinar will review the 2nd edition of this Planning Guide and provide major topics and updated materials.

ADA National Network Learning Session:
National Fire Protection Association's Emergency Evacuation Planning for People with Disabilities

RESCHEDULED: October 27th, 2016: 2.30pm ET/1.30pm CT/12.30 pm MT/11.30am PT/8.30am Hawaii
Register.

Learning objectives:

  • Identify the specific functions that are part of a process of evacuating a building and how to build a successful plan.

Presenter:

  • Allan Fraser is the Senior Building Code Specialist on the National Fire Protection Association's (NFPA) staff. Before joining NFPA, he had been the Building Commissioner in 5 different Massachusetts municipalities over twenty seven years. He is a Certified Building Official and a Certified Professional Code Administrator. He staff's NFPA's Disability Access Review and Advisory Committee. He represents NFPA on a number of committees of other standards developers.

These 90 minute webinars are delivered using the Blackboard Collaborate webinar platform. Collaborate downloads files to your machine in order to run. We recommend that you prepare your technology prior to the start of the session. You may need the assistance of your IT Staff if firewalls prevent you from downloading files.

To view all of the sessions for the coming year, or to see previous sessions, go to http://www.adapresentations.org/schedule.php

The information presented in this webinar is intended solely as informal guidance, and is neither a determination of legal rights or responsibilities by NIDILRR or FEMA.