Turning great ideas into healthier communities

Announcements

ADA National Network Learning Session: Recovery from the Recent Disasters: Lessons for Disability Planning in Remote Areas

February 20, 2018

ADA National Network Learning Session:
Recovery from the Recent Disasters: Lessons for Disability Planning in Remote Areas

Thursday March 8th, 2018
Webinars begin at 2.30pm EST/1.30pm CST/12.30 pm MST/11.30am PST/9.30am Hawaii.
Registration: Free on-line at http://www.adapresentations.org/registration.php
Registration closes at midnight, March 7th, 2018.

Any community can become isolated during a disaster even if they aren't directly impacted. Through a historical perspective and actual disaster experiences, three FEMA Regional Disability Integration Specialists will look at:

  • The realities of disaster impacts on systems which may already be stretched thin even during regular daily existence;
  • How community partners can play a role in both response and recovery; and
  • How to identify real shortfalls in plans and actual events.

Learning objectives:

  • Understand the recovery processes for people with access and functional needs (especially people with disabilities) from recent disasters

Presenters:

  • Roxann Crawford, FEMA Region IX Disability Integration Specialist
  • Michael Houston, FEMA Region VIII Disability Integration Specialist
  • Danielle Bailey, FEMA Region X Disability Integration Specialist.

To view upcoming sessions, go to http://www.adapresentations.org/schedule.php

To see previous sessions, go to http://www.adapresentations.org/archive.php

The information presented in this webinar is intended solely as informal guidance, and is neither a determination of legal rights or responsibilities by NIDILRR or FEMA.