Turning great ideas into healthier communities

Announcements

Webinar: Opportunities and Challenges for Long-Acting MPTs

April 05, 2018

Multipurpose prevention technologies (MPTs) are an innovative class of products that deliver varied combinations of HIV prevention, other STI prevention, and contraception that will improve the lives of women and families worldwide. There are currently nearly a dozen MPTs in clinical trials, with many other innovative technologies in earlier stages of development, including:

  • Longer acting vaginal rings
  • Fast dissolving films and inserts Innovative and effective gels
  • Effective, affordable, and widely available

MPTs would save lives and improve the health of women and their families across the globe.

The Initiative for Multipurpose Prevention Technologies (IMPT), a project of PHI's CAMI Health, is hosting an upcoming technical webinar featuring presentations from Dr. Charles Flexner of Johns Hopkins Medicine and Dr. Arnab Chatterjee of the California Institute for Biomedical Research (Calibr). Dr. Flexner will discuss employing long-acting delivery methods to develop an MPT that are consistent with the needs of HIV prevention, and Dr. Chatterjee will speak to defining and developing drug substances consistent with the technical requirements of long-acting MPTs.

Opportunities and Challenges for Long-Acting MPTs
Wednesday May 2, 2018
8:00 a.m. PT / 11:00 a.m. ET / 16:00 BST / 17:00 CET / 18:00 EAT / 19:00 UAE / 20:30 IST / 01:00 AEDT (May 3)
Register here.
Note: The webinar is scheduled for 60 minutes, but the presenters may stay on for additional time depending on the volume of audience questions/comments.

This webinar is part of a series that has been designed with 'new' MPT researchers in mind, such as contraceptive developers and manufacturers, mechanical engineers, novel formulation scientists, and polymer chemists. We encourage those who want to learn more about MPTs to follow this series, but anyone with an interest in the MPT field is welcome to join us.

Please feel free to send any advance questions that you would like our presenters to address to: Kathreen Daria, Project Coordinator. If you are unable to participate in this webinar, the presentation and recording will be made available on the IMPT Resource Center.