Turning great ideas into healthier communities

Announcements

Webinar: Smart911 Program Outcomes During the Missoula 2017 Wildfire Season - Lessons from a Whole Community Approach to Emergency Planning

June 04, 2018

The following is provided by PHI's Pacific ADA Center

Smart911 Program Outcomes During the Missoula 2017 Wildfire Season:
Lessons from a Whole Community Approach to Emergency Planning

Thursday June 14th, 2018
Webinars begin at 2.30pm EDT/1.30pm CDT/12.30pm MDT/11.30am PDT/8:30am Hawaii
Registration: Free on-line at http://www.adapresentations.org/registration.php
Registration closes at midnight, June 13th, 2018.

 

In February 2012, Missoula County acquired Smart911 and later added SmartPrepare and Rave Alerts. The Missoula LEPC and DPC integrated these systems into emergency management activities, including response activities during the 2017 Missoula Wildfire Season. Presenters will share lessons learned from targeted promotion activities and use of the systems to reach persons with disabilities and with access and functional needs.

This webinar is part of the ADA National Network/FEMA Webinar Series, Emergency Management and Preparedness-Inclusion of Persons with Disabilities, and provided by PHI's Pacific ADA Center.

 

Learning objectives:

  • Learn about how to use Smart911, SmartPrepare, and Rave Alerts to reach persons with disabilities and with access and functional needs.

 

Presenters:

  • Nick Holloway has been with the Missoula County Office of Emergency Management since 2012 and he has an active role in the emergency operations center and joint information center. Nick developed and coordinates Missoula County's Volunteer and Donations Management program and facilitates Missoula County's Community Organizations Active in Disaster or COAD program, both of which were activated during the busy 2017 wildfire season. Nick also serves as a public information officer on the Western Montana Incident Management Team, a regional all-hazards type 3 IMT. In the past year, he deployed to wildfire incidents and snow emergencies around Montana.
  • Meg Ann Traci is a senior scientist with expertise in both early childhood and life-span development. Her research is committed to improving the health and wellness of persons with disabilities. She is a member of RHEC VIII and is the senior consultant on the Montana Disability and Health Program, one of the CDCs 19 State Programs on Disability and Health. In this role, she has been working with community and emergency management partners to take a whole community approach to emergency planning, response, and recovery.

To view upcoming sessions, go to http://www.adapresentations.org/schedule.php

To see previous sessions, go to http://www.adapresentations.org/archive.php

The information presented in this webinar is intended solely as informal guidance, and is neither a determination of legal rights or responsibilities by NIDILRR or FEMA.